We in social networks


Events Calendar


Outcomes of СSTO Summit

08.09.2008 14:39

A Summit of the Collective Security Treaty Organization (SCTO) was held in Moscow on September 5. The SCTO member-states include Russia, Armenia, Byelorussia, Kazakhstan, Kirgizia, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan. The Collective Security Treaty was signed in Tashkent on May 15, 1992. On May 14, 2002, the heads of state of the Treaty made a decision to transform the SCT into a full-fledged international organization: the Collective Security Treaty Organization (CSTO). On October 7, 2002, the member-states signed its Charter and SCTO Legal Status Agreement, which came into force on September 18, 2003.

At the Moscow Summit, the heads of CSTO member-states adopted a declaration containing their consolidated position on assessment of the events in the Caucasus as well as of other topical subjects of the world politics. The document outlines a common CSTO stand with respect to the global security issues, situation around Iran, situation in Iraq and in the Korea Peninsular.

President of Russia Dmitry Medvedev said that the heads of CSTO member-states unanimously negatively assessed the Georgia’s actions in South Ossetia and supported the steps of Russia.

"Our partners in the CSTO have given a clearly negative assessment of Georgia’s action, Georgia’s aggression against South Ossetia, voiced their support for Russia’s active role and spoken in favour of solid security guarantees for South Ossetia and Abkhazia”, Medvedev said at a press-conference following the SCTO Collective Security Council session. “The CSTO member states have called for an assessment of the situation free from double standards”, the President pointed out.

"We had a very productive discussion at our meeting in narrow format, an absolutely honest open and direct discussion, as a result of which we have been able to demonstrate a new level of internal political coordination within the CSTO”, the President said.

In the adopted Declaration the CSTO member-states called on the NATO countries to weigh up all likely implications of the Alliance’s eastward expansion and of the deployment of new missile defense facilities in Europe.

“A serious conflict potential is accumulating in direct proximity to the CSTO zone of responsibility. The CSTO member states call on the NATO countries to weigh up all likely implications of the Alliance’s eastward expansion and of the deployment of new missile defense facilities”, the Declaration reads.

The heads of CSTO member-states declared the necessity to continue cooperation in the reconstruction of an effective arms control mechanism in Europe.

"A serious cause for concern is the proliferation of intermediate-range and shorter-range ground-based missiles, particularly near the Organization’s zone of responsibility”, the document reads.

Besides, the heads of state approved the Collective Action Program of the CSTO Member States to Implement the UN Global Counterterrorism Strategy 2008-2012, and Joint Action Program to Create Information Security System of the CSTO Member-States. The Collective Security Council also adopted the Decision on Additional CSTO Measures Aimed at Combating Drug Trafficking.

The heads of CSTO member-states discussed implementation of the Collective Action Plan for Development of Military Capability, made amendments to the CSTO Council Decision of 2001 on the Collective Rapid Deployment Force of the Central Asian Collective Security Region, and approved the Rules and Procedures for Elaboration, Funding and Implementation of CSTO Inter-State Target Programs.